top of page
  • Writer's pictureRamil Jr Mosqueda

How COVID-19 affects Filipino workers

Updated: Aug 6, 2020

Early first quarter of the year (month of March 2020), the World Health Organization (WHO) declared that the COVID-19 virus mark as a pandemic case due to its outbreak that exponentially increase in over more than 100 countries. In Philippines, President Rodrigo Duterte made his country under the “State of Calamity” on March 16, 2020. Since then, up to present, the country has been battling to stop the spreading of such diseases, even the Local Government Units (LGU) together with Department of Health (DOH) had also take measures to address the most basic health and socio-economic needs of the people.




COVID-19 effect

The COVID-19 has affected the public health that has hit badly and swiftly the economy in the Philippines but also globally. Up to this date, the pandemic has already caused a chain effect of suffering for millions of Filipinos especially to the poorest of the poor that halted their means of income to their daily lives, since, some of the businesses has either to closed or laid-off some of the employees to somehow minimize their financial loses.




What are the basics that we can aid to government to battle this invisible enemy?

  1. Always wear face masks wherever we are in public to protect ourselves and the others against COVID-19 spreading

  2. Take a social distancing for over 1.5meters – 2meters in public.

  3. Clean our hand frequently and thoroughly using alcohol-based hand sanitizer or wash our hands with soap and water.

  4. Staying active and physically fit.

  5. Eating healthy diet.

  6. Stay at home and don’t go outside if not necessary.

By these very basic tips we can help our government to fight this pandemic crisis even we are not in the front line.

To my fellow displaced workers, we can start earning again by doing some of these jobs online.

· Online Seller

· Online Consultation for Professionals

· Online Tutorial for Teachers

· Online assistant or Virtual Assistant


Yes, you read it right above that I am one of those Filipino who lost a job in this crisis. With my motivation to provide income for my family, I research online on how to work in online. And there, I found Filipino Virtual Assistance (FVA), they are a Business Consultancy that offers freelancing courses to freelancers, virtual assistance services to brands and businesses and franchising opportunities. I enrolled on their Freelancing course as part of Batch 46 on July 2020. At first I was afraid to take step in entering the online industry since I don’t have any background to became a virtual assistant, but with the help of FVA I was given an idea and knowledge on the processes or procedures with regards the online career, they are virtually hands on in building your career as an virtual assistant (VA), they are always encouraging and aiding us to build our confidence. This was a big help, a fulfilling and great experience for me to start my career in online world and this would be my contribution to our government to be “STAY AT HOME” while not compromising the health and income of my family.

To know more about Filipino Virtual Assistance you can visit their WEBSITE / FACEBOOK for more details. If you want also to ask me to what is like to become a student of FVA or what is life of a virtual assistant, you can visit my WEBSITE / FACEBOOK / INSTAGRAM / TWITTER / LINKEDIN or you may reach me through my email rlmosquedajr@gmail.com or contact me on this mobile number +63949-925-0666.



7 views0 comments
bottom of page